Select a page

PWC Brazil Baixo Guandu 2022 - March 26 to April 2

The first competition to be cancelled when the world went to sleep in 2020 was the Baixo Guandu Super Final. For many, it was therefore essential to return once the sun returned to the beautiful country of Brazil.

Baixo Guandu conjures up many images: flying over gigantic black granite domes, followed by parties where you can enjoy barbecues at will. Baixo Guandu is one of the best places on earth to hold a competition, as it is a region full of incredible places to fly. It has been a favourite destination for the World Cup since its first visit in 2013. Subsequent competitions have been held there in 2015, 2018 and a very successful nine-round Super Final in 2019.

The varied terrain offers many options for both interesting and challenging rounds. The evolution area is mainly flatlands with hills, but there are also some low mountains. The main flying area is separated by the gentle and rather muddy meander of the Rio Doce.

The thermals are relatively large and not too strong, usually 2-3 m/s, and often marked by cloud. All this gives the pilot many options for transitions: go to the right side of the river and take off over the mountains, or to the left side over the plains?

For many, the mythical area to the north, near Pancas, is the stuff of paragliding fairy tales. Pilots fly over an amazingly picturesque area, full of huge spires and granite blocks. Words have never been enough to describe the legendary natural monument of Pontões Capixabas. Many call it "Jurassic Park", others just shake their heads and laugh at such an amazing flying experience.

We hope to bring back the pilots, and bring back photos, memories, and a great podium.

Follow the drivers, comments, live tracking and standings at: live.pwca.org. In the photographer's paradise, we will publish many pictures in the media gallery on www.pwca.org.

The Kortel Design Team will consist of :

While we wait for the competition to start, here are some pictures to give you a taste of Brazil:

https://photos.app.goo.gl/VWCALTUtfjec7pZn6  /  https://photos.app.goo.gl/pxcTwy9ZJVGJD36Q8

Sélectionner une page

PWC Brésil Baixo Guandu 2022 – Du 26 mars au 2 avril

La première compétition à avoir été annulée lorsque le monde s’est mis en veille en 2020, fut la Super Finale de Baixo Guandu. Pour beaucoup, il était donc primordial d’y retourner, une fois le soleil revenu dans ce beau pays qu’est le Brésil.

Baixo Guandu évoque de nombreuses images : le survol de gigantesques dômes de granit noir, suivi de soirées où l’on peut déguster des barbecues à volonté. Baixo Guandu est l’un des meilleurs endroits sur terre pour organiser une compétition, car c’est une région qui regorge d’endroits incroyables pour voler. C’est l’une des destinations favorites de la Coupe du monde depuis sa première visite en 2013. Des compétitions ultérieures y ont été organisées en 2015, 2018 et une Super Finale très réussie de neuf manches en 2019.

Le terrain très varié offre de nombreuses options pour des manches à la fois  intéressantes, mais aussi difficiles. La zone d’évolution est principalement composée de plaines avec des collines, mais il y a aussi quelques montagnes basses. La zone de vol principale est séparée par le doux et plutôt boueux méandre du Rio Doce.

Les thermiques sont relativement grands et pas trop forts, généralement 2-3 m/s, et souvent marqués par des nuages. Tout cela permet au pilote d’avoir beaucoup d’options pour les transitions : aller du côté droit de la rivière et prendre par les montagnes, ou du côté gauche dans les plaines ?

Pour beaucoup, la zone mythique au nord, près de Pancas, est ce dont sont faits les contes de fées en parapente.  Les pilotes survolent une région étonnamment pittoresque, pleine d’énormes flèches et blocs de granit. Les mots n’ont jamais suffi pour décrire le légendaire monument naturel de Pontões Capixabas. Beaucoup l’appellent « Jurassic Park », d’autres se contentent de secouer la tête et de rire devant une expérience de vol aussi étonnante.

Nous espérons emmener à nouveau les pilotes, et vous rapporter des photos, des souvenirs, ainsi qu’un podium exceptionnel.

Suivez les pilotes, les commentaires, le suivi en direct et le classement sur : live.pwca.org. Au paradis des photographes, nous publierons de nombreux clichés dans la galerie média sur www.pwca.org.

La Team Kortel Design sera composée de :

En attendant le début de la compétition, voici quelques photos pour vous donner un avant-goût du Brésil :

https://photos.app.goo.gl/VWCALTUtfjec7pZn6  /  https://photos.app.goo.gl/pxcTwy9ZJVGJD36Q8