Select a page

T-Bone link, for who for what?

The T-Bone links belong to the family of flexible connectors, just like Soft-Links.

This type of connection, widely used  for many years in skydiving, is beginning to make its way in the paragliding world but still raises doubts and questions.

We will try to clarify some characteristics of flexible connectors, to give your more faith about their use.

We will try here to show you all the facets of these connectors ...

STRENGTH?

Despite their apparent fragility, certainly due to their extremely low weight, these connectors are often made from an ultra-resistant material: Dyneema (or its derivative). The failure tests carried out are similar to those of more traditional connectors such as automatic carabiners or quick links. This resistance can be obtained on some connectors by making several turns before closing it, or only 1 turn as on the T-Bone link.

In this case, the T-Bone links have a yield strength  over 2400 daN (Equivalent to 2400 kg!). It should be noted that on a harness, the homologation tests (under different axes) impose a minimum strength of 1500daN (100kg with 15G acceleration), i.e. 750daN on each anchor point. The T-Bone links therefore have a nominal strength 3 times greater than that required on the harness-wing connection ...

LOCKING?

 

Closing a flexible connector requires a little training to be used safely, unlike an automatic carabiner that closes and locks itself. But this handling is far from being complex. On the T-Bone links, we have implemented the "Konnect" system, which makes it possible to close and lock in a single movement. The system is deliberately well adjusted, to eliminate any risk of untimely slippage of the closing loop.

 

Once locked, there is no chance that it will open unintentionally, due to shocks, vibrations, tension release, etc ...

This last property is really worthwhile for all the non-apparent connections, especially those on the reserve parachute (at shoulder level, or in the container). You can now skip this verification from your checklist.

WEAR AND TEAR?

Its fragile appearance may give the impression that the flexible connector will not have a long service life. This is not the case. To date, the only real weakness of Dyneema is heat.

The T-Bone link (like the Soft-link) is equipped with a protective sheath (blue fabric) that limits small external aggressions. As long as this sheath is not damaged, the Dyneema is safe. For the uncovered parts (near the locking system), the fibres must be checked regularly for damage (cuttings). A small amount of "lint" does not necessarily mean premature wear.

If you observe traces of heating (black marks, burnt fibres) or cut fibres, it is better to discard the connector in question.

WHERE CAN WE USE THEM?

In general, flexible connectors can be used on any type of connection if certain precautions are taken:

Breaking strength?

Depending on the location where the connector is used, one must of course check that the breaking strength is consistent with the general recommendations. On the drawings below you will find the general recommendations corresponding to the approval tests. These values correspond to the minimum for a test of 100kg at 15G.

NOTE: If your harness is approved for 130kg, a multiplying factor of 1.3 must be applied.

Connection harness/solo wing

Connection harness/tandem wing

Connecting harness/solo rescue parachute

Connection spacer/tandem rescue parachute

You will notice some form of inconsistency on some connection points ...

The rescue risers are required to have a much higher breaking strength than a harness, as it was considered that they could be used for both solo and tandem flights.

The values given here are therefore a "minimum", taking into account the weakest link in the chain.

What kind of support?

As we discussed in the article "Reflection on the connectors", it is important that automatic carabiners be mounted on a webbing with an appropriate width, so that they do not risk being slanted and have their resistance greatly reduced.

The same applies to flexible connectors. Mounted in tension on a strap that is too wide, the connector will compress the support strap and potentially reduce its structural strength.

We therefore recommend the use of flexible connectors such as T-Bone links on webbing less than 25mm wide to limit this webbing compression effect, or on very thin Dyneema halyard connection points as on the Kruyer II or the Kruyer III.

The same goes for all types of connections, for the harness, the glider, the rescue risers, the rescue itself, etc....

Example of Soft-link on a 40mm strap (black)

We therefore recommend the use of flexible connectors such as T-Bone links on webbing less than 25mm wide to limit this webbing compression effect, or on very thin Dyneema halyard connection points as on the Kruyer II or the Kruyer III.

The same goes for all types of connections, for the harness, the glider, the rescue risers, the rescue itself, etc....

Anchor point of the Kruyer II

Anchor point of the Kruyer III

AND IN A TANDEM?

Well, as seen previously, the use of flexible connectors in tandem  is perfectly reasonnable, as long as their breaking strength is sufficient, and the strap on which they are mounted does not exceed 25mm wide (according to our recommendations). It is therefore necessary to check the correlation between the anchorage point (minimum strength and strap width) and the  planned flexible connector.

The T-Bone link has the advantage of having a breaking strength greater than 2400 daN, which allows it to be used for any type of connection, whether solo or tandem.

GOOD FLIGHTS!

Sélectionner une page

T-Bone link, pour qui pour quoi ?

Les T-Bone links font partie de la famille des connecteurs souples, tout comme les Soft-Links.

Ce type de connexion, déjà largement utilisé dans le parachutisme depuis de nombreuses années, commence à trouver sa place dans le milieu du parapente mais soulève encore quelques doutes et interrogations.

Nous allons essayer de préciser certaines caractéristiques des connecteurs souples en général, pour vous permettre d’être plus sereins quant à leur utilisation

Nous allons essayer ici de vous dévoiler toutes les facettes de ces connecteurs …

SOLIDITE ?

Malgré leur apparente fragilité certainement due à leur extrême légèreté, ces connecteurs sont très souvent réalisés à partir d’un matériau ultra-résistant : le Dyneema (ou dérivé). Les tests de ruptures réalisés sont similaires à ceux des connecteurs plus classiques comme les mousquetons automatiques ou les maillons rapides. Cette résistance peut être obtenue sur certains connecteurs en effectuant plusieurs tours avant de le fermer, ou 1 seul comme sur le T-Bone link.

En l’occurrence, les T-Bone links ont une résistance à la rupture supérieure à 2400 daN (Équivalent à 2400 kg !). Il faut savoir que sur une sellette, les tests d’homologation (sous différents axes) imposent une résistance minimale de 1500daN (100kg sous une accélération de 15G), soit 750daN sur chaque point d’ancrage. Les T-Bone links ont donc une résistance nominale 3 fois supérieure à ce qui est demandé sur le point d’ancrage de la sellette …

FERMETURE ?

 

Fermer un connecteur souple demande un petit apprentissage pour être utilisé en toute sécurité, à la différence d’un mousqueton automatique qui se ferme et se verrouille tout seul. Mais cette manipulation est loin d’être complexe. Sur les T-Bone links, nous avons implanté le système « Konnect », qui permet de fermer et de verrouiller en 1 seul geste. Le système est volontairement bien ajusté, pour supprimer tout risque de sortie intempestive de la boucle de fermeture.

 

Une fois verrouillé, plus aucune chance qu’il ne s’ouvre intempestivement, à cause de chocs, de vibrations, de relâchement de la tension, etc …

Cet aspect est vraiment très intéressant pour toutes les connexions qui peuvent être cachées, notamment celles concernant le parachute de secours (au niveau des épaules, ou dans le container). Plus besoin de vérifier si le maillon ne s’est pas desserré, oxydé, …

USURE ?

L’aspect fragile peut donner l’impression que le connecteur souple ne pourra pas avoir une durée de vie longue. Or, il n’en n’est rien. A ce jour, le seul réel point faible du Dyneema est la chaleur.

Le T-Bone link (comme le Soft-link) est équipé d’une gaine de protection (tissus bleu) qui permet de limiter les petites agressions extérieures. Tant que cette gaine n’est pas endommagée, le Dyneema ne risque rien. Pour les parties non couvertes (proche du système de fermeture), il faut observer régulièrement si les fibres ne sont pas endommagées (coupées). Un petit « peluchage » n’est pas forcément synonyme d’usure prématurée.

Si vous observez des traces d’échauffement (traces noires, fibres brûlées) ou des fibres coupées, il vaut mieux rebuter le connecteur incriminé.

OU PEUT-ON LES UTILISER ?

 

De manière générale, les connecteurs souples peuvent s’utiliser sur n’importe quel type de connexion si l’on prend garde à certaines précautions d’utilisation :

La résistance à la rupture ?

En fonction de l’emplacement où l’on souhaite utiliser le connecteur, il faut bien entendu vérifier que la résistance à la rupture est cohérente avec les recommandations générales. Sur les dessins ci-dessous, vous trouverez les préconisations générales correspondantes aux tests d’homologation. Ces valeurs correspondent au minimum pour un test de 100kg à 15G.

NOTE :Si votre sellette est homologuée à 130kg, il faut appliquer un facteur multiplicateur de 100kg/130kg=1.3.

Connexion sellette/voile en solo

 

Connexion sellette/voile en biplace

 

Connexion sellette/secours en solo

 

Connexion écarteurs/secours en biplace

 

Vous noterez une certaine forme d’incohérence sur certains points de connexion …

Concernant les élévateurs de secours, il leur est demandé une résistance à la rupture nettement supérieure à une sellette car il a été considéré qu’ils pouvaient être utilisés aussi bien en solo qu’en biplace.

Les valeurs indiquées ici sont donc un “minimum”, prenant en compte le maillon le plus faible de la chaine.

Quel type de support ?

Comme nous l’avons évoqué dans l’article « Réflexion sur les connecteurs », il est important pour les mousquetons automatiques d’être montés sur une sangle avec une largeur adaptée, pour ne pas risquer de se mettre de travers et de voir sa résistance grandement réduite.

Il en va de même pour les connecteurs souples. Monté en tension sur une sangle trop large, le connecteur va être amené à comprimer la sangle support et potentiellement réduire sa résistance structurelle.

Nous recommandons donc l’utilisation de connecteurs souples comme le T-Bone links sur des sangles dont la largeur est inférieure à 25mm pour limiter cet effet de compression de sangle, ou sur des points de connexion très fins en drisse Dyneema comme sur la Kruyer II ou la Kruyer III.

Il en va de même pour tous les types de connexions, qu’ils concernent la sellette, la voile, les élévateurs de secours, le secours en lui-même, etc …

Exemple de Soft-link sur une sangle de 40mm (noire)

Nous recommandons donc l’utilisation de connecteurs souples comme le T-Bone links sur des sangles dont la largeur est inférieure à 25mm pour limiter cet effet de compression de sangle, ou sur des points de connexion très fins en drisse Dyneema comme sur la Kruyer II ou la Kruyer III.

Il en va de même pour tous les types de connexions, qu’ils concernent la sellette, la voile, les élévateurs de secours, le secours en lui-même, etc …

Point d’ancrage de la Kruyer II

Point d’ancrage de la Kruyer III

ET EN BIPLACE ?

 

Et bien comme vu précédemment, l’utilisation de connecteurs souples en biplace peut parfaitement être envisagée, dès lors que leur résistance à la rupture est suffisante, et que la sangle sur laquelle ils sont montés n’excède pas 25mm de large (selon nos recommandations). Il faut donc bien vérifier la corrélation entre le point d’ancrage (résistance mini et largeur de sangle) et le connecteur souple envisagé.

Le T-Bone link a l’avantage d’avoir une résistance à la rupture supérieure à 2400 daN, ce qui lui permet de pouvoir prétendre à n’importe quel type de connexion, que ce soit en solo ou en biplace.

 

BONS VOLS !