Select a page
Winter 2020, hike and fly training, Crevoux valley, Hautes-Alpes. Damien Lacaze

Reflection on light material ...

The current trend in pilot's demands is towards a constant reduction in the weight of the equipment.

It's certainly more pleasant to carry a small, lightweight backpack than a bag of bricks!

A few years ago, the average weight of a paragliding bag was closer to 20kg than the typical 10kg today ...

Materials and techniques have evolved significantly over the last few years, and we now have ultra-light products that would have been hard to imagine 10-15 years ago (monosurfaces, string harnesses, XAlps cocoon harnesses, reserve parachutes, connectors, clothing, etc ...).

Lightweight equipment seems to be the holy grail everyone seeks today. But beware, every medal has its flip side, and light equipment is no exception to the rule. Lighter equipment has its advantages, but also has limitations that should not be overlooked, or at least be aware of and accept them.

First: Durability

Contrary to what many pilots think or wish, it is simply impossible to have a light harness as strong as a heavier one! In spite of the very high technicality of the light materials and their evolution, a light fabric remains more fragile than a thick one.

Light equipment therefore requires particular care, to maintain a satisfactory lifespan. This includes abrasions, shocks, UV exposure, etc ...

Second: the price!

Unfortunately, price is not proportional to the weight!

All these new light materials require a lot of R&D, and often have more expensive manufacturing processes than standard materials. Associated with the "fragility" factor, it is essential to take particular care of your material.

Third: Precision

One of the biggest compromises with a lightweight harness compared to a standard harness is certainly the steering precision. Indeed, ultra-light harnesses are often based on a hammock configuration with separate thigh geometry. These soft geometries do not allow for a precision equivalent to a hard plate when turning in the harness.

In addition, these "soft" geometries lack rigidity, and the slightest movement of the pilot in the harness immediately affects the wing. An obvious example is the use of the speed bar. When using it, the leg movements (grabbing the bar and pushing) generate a change in the balance of the harness, which will most likely cause the anchorage points to move relative to each other, and consequently cause the wing to turn. This will adversely affect performance when trying to let the wing go to find the best airmass. Every parasitic movement will counter the wing. On a competition harness, it is essential to have a certain rigidity to prevent these parasitic movements (which are detrimental to performance) especially during acceleration.

And finally a misconception: stability / geometry

A common misconception is the instability of light harnesses. Light is often equated with minimalist mountain harnesses where the two thighs are completely independent and have a large range of relative movement between them. But it is perfectly possible to build a light AND stable harness by playing with the design geometry.

It should be noted that so-called "hammock" harnesses are generally much more sensitive to roll than harnesses with a "separate thigh" construction. This is precisely because of the differences in geometry between the two designs.

Light equipment therefore has its advantages, but also certain limitations that must be taken into account when making your choice.

We invite you to find the interview of Max JEANPIERRE on the podcast (from 01 :12 :24) www.cloudbasemayhem.com of our ambassador Gavin Mc CLURG.

Lightweight gear has become fashion, and not only in paragliding! Mountaineering, kitesurfing, sailing,... all sports make their equipment as light as possible. This has a lot of advantages (increase in performance, or carrying comfort, handling). As for me, if I wasn't competing, I would have long ago opted for a high performance pack at less than 10kg, wing + harness and rescue. One is even tempted to go for the ultra light: cocoon at less than 1.5kg, performance glider at 3kg, rescue at 900g or a mountain pack at 1.2kg (like a kliff 2 + a Run & Fly). But always keep in mind that there are setbacks ... The price, robustness/durability, performance a little below, reactions in case of flight incidents are all factors that must be taken into account before taking the step. And then, the "heavy" also has undeniable advantages. I've never felt as comfortable as I do in my Kanibal race 2even after 10 hours of flight, which is almost unthinkable with an ultra-light cocoon, and, if I rub the landing, I know I don't need to get back on the sweing machine!

Damien LACAZE

Member of the Kortel Adventure & Competition Team

Sélectionner une page
Hiver 2020, entraînement hike and fly, vallée de Crevoux, Hautes-Alpes. Damien Lacaze

Réflexion sur le matériel light …

La tendance actuelle de la demande des pilotes va vers un allègement constant du poids du matériel.

Il est certain qu’il est nettement plus agréable d’avoir sur le dos un petit sac léger, qu’un menhir !

Il y a quelques années, le poids moyen du sac de parapente était beaucoup plus proche des 20kg que des 10kg largement envisageable aujourd’hui …

Les matériaux et les techniques ont évolués de manière significative ces dernières années, et nous avons aujourd’hui des produits ultra-légers que nous aurions eu du mal à imaginer il y a seulement 10-15 ans. (monosurfaces, sellettes string, sellettes cocon XAlps, parachutes de secours, connecteurs, vêtements, etc …).

Le matériel light semble donc être le graal que tout un chacun recherche aujourd’hui. Mais attention, toute médaille a son revers, et le matériel light n’échappe pas à la règle. L’allègement du matériel a ses avantages, mais possède aussi des contraintes qu’il ne faut pas négliger, ou à minima en avoir conscience et les accepter.

Premièrement : la durabilité

Contrairement à ce que beaucoup de pilotes pensent ou souhaitent, il est totalement impossible d’avoir une sellette light aussi solide qu’une sellette plus lourde ! Malgré la très haute technicité des matériaux light et leur évolution, un tissu de fin grammage restera plus fragile qu’un tissu épais.

Le light nécessite donc d’apporter un soin particulier à son matériel, pour lui offrir une durée de vie satisfaisante. Cela inclus les abrasions, les chocs, l’exposition aux UV, etc …

Point N°2 : le prix !

En effet, le prix n’est malheureusement pas proportionnel au poids !

Tous ces nouveaux matériaux light nécessitent beaucoup de recherche, et ont souvent des procédés de fabrication plus onéreux que les matériaux standards. Associé au paramètre « fragilité », il faut bien avoir conscience du soin à apporter à son matériel.

En 3, la Précision

L’un des plus gros compromis à faire avec le light par rapport à une sellette standard à plateau, c’est très certainement la précision de pilotage. En effet, les sellettes ultra-light sont bien souvent construites sur une géométrie hamac ou cuisses séparées. Ces géométries souples ne permettent pas d’obtenir une précision équivalente à un plateau en ce qui concerne la mise en virage à la sellette.

Par ailleurs, ces géométries « souples » manquent de rigidité, et les moindres mouvements du pilote sur la sellette se répercutent immédiatement sur la voile. Un exemple flagrant : l’utilisation de l’accélérateur. Lorsqu’on l’utilise, les mouvements de la jambe (prise du barreau et poussée) génère un changement d’équilibre de la sellette qui provoquera très certainement un déplacement relatif des points d’ancrage l’un par rapport à l’autre, et par conséquent une mise en virage de la voile. Cela va nuire aux performances lorsque l’on chercher à laisser faire la voile pour trouver la meilleure masse d’air. Chaque mouvement parasite va contrer la voile. Sur une sellette de compétition, il est primordial d’avoir une certaine rigidité pour empêcher tous ces mouvements parasites (qui nuisent aux performances) notamment lors des phases d’accélération.

Et enfin une fausse idée : stabilité / géométrie

Une fausse idée qui circule habituellement est l’instabilité des sellettes light. Le light est souvent assimilé aux sellettes minimalistes de montagne où les 2 cuisses sont complètement indépendantes, et ont une grande amplitude de mouvements relatifs entre elles. Mais il est parfaitement possible de construire une sellette light ET stable, en jouant sur la géométrie de conception.

A savoir que les sellettes dites « hamac » sont généralement beaucoup plus sensibles au roulis que des sellettes avec une construction « à cuisses séparées ». Cela vient justement des différences de géométrie de ces deux conceptions.

Le matériel light a donc ses avantages, mais aussi certaines contraintes qu’il faut impérativement prendre en compte au moment de faire son choix.

Nous vous invitons à retrouver l’interview de Max JEANPIERRE sur le podcast (à partir de 01 :12 :24) www.cloudbasemayhem.com de notre ambassadeur Gavin Mc CLURG (en anglais).

Le light, c’est à la mode, et pas qu’en parapente ! La montagne, le kite, la voile,… tous les sports allègent leur matériel au maximum. Cela a beaucoup d’avantages (augmentation de performance, ou de confort de portage, de maniabilité). Me concernant, si je ne faisais pas de compétitions, j’aurai depuis longtemps opté pour un pack performant à moins de 10kg, aile + sellette et secours.  On est même tenté d’aller chercher l’ultra light : cocon à moins de 1,5kg, voile perf à 3kg, secours à 900g ou un pack montagne à 1.2kg (comme une kliff 2 + une Run & Fly). Mais il faut toujours garder en tête qu’il y a des revers …  Le prix, la robustesse/durabilité, les performances un peu en deça, les réactions en cas d’incidents de vol sont autant de facteurs qu’il faut prendre en compte avant de franchir le pas. Et puis, le “lourd” a aussi des avantages indéniables. Je ne me suis jamais senti aussi bien installé que dans ma Kanibal Race 2, même après 10H de vol, ce qui est presque impensable avec un cocon ultra light, et, si je frotte à l’atterro, je sais que je n’ai pas besoin de faire de la couture !

Damien LACAZE

Membre du Team Kortel Aventure & Compétition