Select a page

Why and when to switch to a cocoon harness?

There comes a time in a pilot's life when you want to improve your paragliding, and this includes changing your equipment to be more in line with your goal.

As far as the harness is concerned, the major change that often takes place is to move from a so-called "sitting" harness to a  cocoon harness. Many questions surround this change:

  • Do I have the necessary nlevel?
  • Which model to choose?
  • How do I get settled in?
  • What to do in case of a wing collapse?
  • ...

Through this artcile, we will offer some insights to better understand the transition to a cocoon.

WHY

What are the reasons to transition to a cocoon harness?

The first argument is the gain in aerodynamic performance. It is obvious that a streamlined harness with a cocoon improves the overall performance of the aircraft (glider+pilot+harness) by limiting the frontal area exposed to relative wind, and therefore reducing drag. However, these performance gains should not be the main criterion, as you may be disappointed. At very high level (top level competition, cross country, ...), this performance gain will be interesting to outperform your competitors. But to fly on site and do small cross country, the real gain in performance will not necessarily be here.

The second argument, which is generally discussed, is comfort. Comfort by the support of the legs, but also through the protection against the cold offered by the cocoon.

And  this is certainly the aspect which will bring the most performance to your flights!

Indeed, the cold is an important constraint as soon as you  fly more than 2-3 hours. The cold settles in gently, so the body has to spend calories (energy) to fight against it. The result is an early fatigue of the cross-country pilot! With fatigue comes a decrease in attention, reflexes, good decision making, and in the end you lose performance in your flight.

Protection against the cold therefore allows a real gain in performance by allowing the rider to be at his maximum for much longer, but also a real plus in terms of safety.

As a third argument, it is evident that " it just looks pretty awsome"! 😉

WHEN

Another major question: when are you "ready" to get a cocoon?

In order to answer this question, it is necessary to have appreciated the constraints and specificities linked to the use of a cocoon:

  • Size & weight: a harness equipped with a cocoon is often more bulky and heavier, and you have to accept it! This can cause "discomfort" in take-off and landing movements and will require additional and learning curve.
  • Position and frame of reference: To be comfortable and efficient, a harness equipped with a cocoon must be flown in the "semi-recumbent" to "lying down" position. This position forces the pilot to look for flight information in a relatively high area (horizon / sky / canopy), and will limit the field of vision below the horizon.
  • Mechanical balance: Sit-to-lying transition: decrease in roll inertia (decrease of the roll filter, increase in the movements transmitted by the sail), increase in yaw inertia.
  • Aerodynamic balance: the change from a "sitting" to a "lying" position clearly changes the aerodynamic balance, especially on the yaw axis, which is combined with the increase in yaw inertia. A sideways gust, a badly dosed reaction and one quickly finds oneself twisted ... This position will require the learning of specific gestures in case of large collapses.
  • Stability vs. instability: The lying-down position also makes the harness more "sensitive" to the transmission of information from the wing, especially on the roll axis. Two phenomena combine: a decrease in roll inertia, which acts as a filter on roll oscillations, and a change in the centre of gravity, which is lower, making the whole system more stable. As you raise your legs in a straight forward position and lie down, the centre of gravity rises slightly and makes the pilot/harness more sensitive to roll movements.

The transition to a cocoon harness yields certain positive points (warmth, performance), but it also brings its share of constraints that will have to be accepted and integrated in the way you fly.

The right time to jump to a cocoon is when one is consious and aware of the constraints to be taken into account (and accepted!) in order to reap the benefits!

We invite you to find the interview of Max JEANPIERRE on the podcast (from 1:03:03) www.cloudbasemayhem.com of our ambassador Gavin Mc CLURG 

PILOTS' OPINIONS ...

Cocoons were originally invented to improve performance. Today, there are other relvant criteria. Comfort, warmth, fun and movement also come into play. But beware, switching to a cocoon is not insignificant and must be considered carefully! This leads to complications during all phases of the flight (pre-flight, take-off, turn, turbulence, collapse and landing). Pure performance is also not a valid reason (except for competition). You only have to look at the trim settings of most pilots who fly in a cocoon to see that they make at least as much drag as a sitting harness (read the excellent article of Kortel on this subject). To fly in a cocoon, it is necessary to be well informed of what that will change in piloting, it is imperative (in my opinion) to do a SIV with your new toy before the first thermals.

It must be a well-thought-out decision, and especially not to "do like your buddies".

Damien LACAZE

Member of the Kortel Adventure & Competition Team

For me, you can imagine the cocoon as an extra comfort for the pilot.

With more comfort, concentration can then be focused on the more technical and tactical aspects of the flight.

This transition to the cocoon can take place provided one has sufficient technical knowledge to exploit all its resources. Indeed, the risks in the case of large collapses are greater and more difficult to manage than in a seated harness.

It is therefore necessary to live in  planned situation (SIV) this difference in management between a sitting and lying harness.

Rémi BOURDELLE

Member of the Kortel Competition Team

You go under a cocoon for several reasons: the comfort against the cold (so you can get through it quite quickly) the performance (in these cases, wait until you have a real need for performance and an adapted wing)

We will therefore not take the same harness for the first cross country flight on snowy summits with your little B-wing where we just care for the incredible landscape (but where it's cold), and a world cup round where each 0.1 pt of finesse makes the difference in making the goal or not.

Pro tip: when you transition "young" (in the life of a pilot) to a cocoon, you must not forget to do so gradually ... That is to say, find a cocoon as seated as possible to find your marks with respect to your old harness, and lie down gradually (or anticipate it with his seated harness by starting to lie down gradually).

Sam AVENNE

Member of the Kortel Competition Team

When and why switch to a cocoon harness?

Do I need it? What's it going to bring me!

To go to a cocoon:

- It is necessary to know the type of practices you want, in order to orient ourselves towards the different products.

- Having a sufficient level, according to the requirements of the wing and the wing / harness cohesion.

- Necessity of comfort, stay several hours in the air, ergonomics, positioning to not get tired, stay warm. 

Caution: never change harness and wing at the same time!

Arthur MOINDROT

Member of the Kortel Competition Team

Sélectionner une page

Pourquoi et quand passer à une sellette cocon ?

Dans la vie d’un pilote, il arrive un moment où l’on a envie de faire évoluer sa pratique du parapente, et cela passe notamment par un changement de son matériel, pour être plus en phase avec son objectif.

En ce qui concerne la sellette, le changement majeur qui s’opère souvent consiste à passer d’une sellette dite « assise », à une sellette équipée d’un cocon. Le pilote se pose alors de multiples questions :

  • Ais-je le niveau ?
  • Quel modèle choisir ?
  • Comment faire pour s’installer ?
  • Comment faire en cas de vrac ?

Au travers de cette réflexion, nous allons essayer de vous faire passer quelques clés pour comprendre le passage au cocon.

POURQUOI

Quelles sont les raisons qui motivent à passer au cocon ?

Le premier argument auquel on pense, c’est le gain de performances aérodynamiques. Il est certain qu’une sellette profilée, équipée d’un cocon améliore les performances globales de l’aéronef (voile+pilote+sellette) en limitant la surface frontale exposée au vent relatif, et diminue donc la traînée de forme. Ces gains de performances ne doivent pourtant pas être le critère principal, car vous risqueriez d’être déçus. A très haut niveau (compétition de haut niveau, cross d’envergure, …), ce gain de performance sera intéressant pour surpasser ses concurrents. Mais pour voler sur site et faire de petits cross, le vrai gain de performance ne sera pas forcément là.

Le second argument généralement abordé, est le confort. Confort par le soutien des jambes, mais aussi par la protection contre le froid qu’offre le cocon.

Et c’est certainement cet aspect qui intrinsèquement apportera le plus de performance dans vos vols !

En effet, le froid est une contrainte forte dès que l’on veut voler plus de 2-3h. Le froid s’installe gentiment, du coup, le corps doit dépenser des calories (de l’énergie) pour lutter contre ce froid. Il en résulte une fatigue précoce du pilote crosseur ! Avec la fatigue, vient une diminution de l’attention, des réflexes, d’une bonne prise de décision, et au final on perd de la performance dans son vol.

La protection contre le froid permet donc un vrai gain de performances en permettant au pilote d’être beaucoup plus longtemps à son maximum, mais également un vrai plus en terme de sécurité.

En troisième argument, il est indéniable que « ça a de la gueule » ! 😉

QUAND

Autre question majeure : quand est-on « prêt » pour passer sous un cocon ?

Pour répondre à cette question, il faut avant tout avoir bien intégré les contraintes et particularités liées à l’utilisation d’un cocon :

  • Encombrement & poids : une sellette équipée d’un cocon est souvent plus encombrante et plus lourde, et il faut l’accepter ! Cela peut engendrer une « gêne » dans les mouvements au décollage et à l’atterrissage et devra nécessiter un apprentissage supplémentaire.
  • Position et référentiel : pour être confortable et efficace, une sellette équipée d’un cocon se doit de voler en position « semi-couchée » à « couchée ». Cette position oblige le pilote à rechercher les informations de vol dans une zone relativement haute (horizon / ciel / voile), et limitera le champ de vision situé au-dessous de l’horizon.
  • Equilibre mécanique : Passage assis-couché : diminution de l’inertie en roulis (diminution du filtre roulis, augmentation des mouvements transmis par la voile), augmentation de l’inertie en lacet.
  • Equilibre aérodynamique : le passage d’une position « assise » à « couchée », modifie clairement l’équilibre aérodynamique, et notamment sur l’axe de lacet, qui se combine avec l’augmentation de l’inertie en lacet. Une rafale de travers, une réaction mal dosée et on se retrouve vite twisté … Cette position va nécessiter l’apprentissage d’une gestuelle spécifique en cas de vrac.
  • Stabilité vs instabilité : La position couchée rend également la sellette plus « sensible » à la transmission des informations de la voile, et notamment sur l’axe de roulis. Deux phénomènes se combinent : diminution de l’inertie en roulis qui joue comme un filtre sur les oscillations en roulis, et modification du centre de gravité qui se trouve plus bas, rendant l’ensemble plus stable. En remontant les jambes en position tendue devant et en se couchant, le centre de gravité remonte légèrement et rend l’ensemble pilote/sellette plus sensible aux mouvements de roulis.

Le passage à une sellette cocon amène un certain nombre de points positifs (chaleur, performance), mais comporte aussi son lot de contraintes qu’il va falloir accepter et intégrer dans sa façon de piloter.

Le moment opportun pour passer au cocon, c’est quand l’on est conscient et avisé des contraintes à prendre en compte (et accepter !) pour aller chercher les avantages !

Nous vous invitons à retrouver l’interview de Max JEANPIERRE sur le podcast (à partir de 1 :03 :03) www.cloudbasemayhem.com de notre ambassadeur Gavin Mc CLURG (en anglais) 

AVIS DE PILOTES …

A l’origine, les cocons ont été inventé pour gagner en performance. Aujourd’hui, ce n’est plus le seul critère. Le confort, la chaleur, le coté fun et dans le mouv’ entrent aussi en jeu. Mais attention, passer à un cocon n’est pas anodin et doit être mûrement réfléchi ! Cela entraîne des complications lors de toutes les phases du vol (prévol, décollage, virage, turbulences, vracs et retour au sol). La performance pure n’est pas non plus une raison valable (hors compétition). Il suffit de regarder les réglages d’assiette de la plupart des pilotes qui volent en cocon pour voir qu’ils font au moins autant de traînée qu’une sellette assise (lire l’excellent article de Kortel à ce sujet). Pour voler en cocon, il faut être bien informé de ce que cela va changer dans le pilotage, il est impératif (pour moi) de faire un SIV avec votre nouveau bijou avant les premiers thermiques.

Ce doit être une décision pesée et réfléchie, et surtout pas pour “faire comme les copains”.​

Damien LACAZE

Membre du Team Kortel Aventure & Compétition

Pour moi, on peut imaginer le cocon comme un supplément de confort apporté au pilote.

Avec plus de confort, la concentration peut alors se porter sur des aspects plus techniques et tactiques du vol que l’on réalise.

Ce passage au cocon peut se faire à condition d’avoir suffisamment de bagage technique pour en exploiter toutes les ressources. En effet les risques en cas de vracs sont plus grands et plus délicats à gérer que sur une sellette assise.

Ça nécessite donc de vivre en situation aménagé (SIV) cette différence de gestion entre une sellette assise et couché.

Rémi BOURDELLE

Membre du Team Kortel Compétition

On passe sous un cocon, pour plusieurs raisons : le confort du froid (alors on peut y passer assez rapidement) la performance (dans ces cas-là, attendre avoir une recherche de performance et une voile adaptée)

On ne prendra du coup pas la même sellette pour les premiers cross avec les sommets enneigés avec sa petite B ou on recherche juste le paysage incroyable (mais où il fait froid) , et une manche de coupe du monde où chaque 0.1 pt de finesse te permet une rentrée ou non , au goal…..

Conseil, quand on passe ” jeune ” (dans la vie d’un pilote) au cocon, il ne faut pas oublier d’y aller progressivement … C’est à dire trouver un cocon le plus assis possible pour retrouver les repères de son ancienne sellette, et se coucher progressivement (ou alors l’anticiper avec sa sellette assise en venant la coucher progressivement).

Sam AVENNE

Membre du Team Kortel Compétition

Quand et pourquoi passer à une sellettes cocon ?

Est-ce que j’en ai besoin ? Qu’est-ce qu’il va m’apporter !

Pour passer sous un cocon :

– Il est nécessaire de savoir le type de pratiques qui nous intéresse, pour s’orienter vers les différents produits.

-Avoir un niveau suffisant, en fonction des exigences de la voile et de la cohésion voile / sellette.

-Besoin de confort, rester plusieurs heures en l’air, ergonomie, positionnement pour ne pas se fatiguer,  rester au chaud. 

Attention : ne jamais changer de sellette et de voile en même temps !

Arthur MOINDROT

Membre du Team Kortel Compétition