What's a good harness?

SELLETTE

(Cf Wikipedia)

"In paragliding, the harness is the seat in which the pilot sits. It is connected to the risers by two carabiners. The pilot is attached to it by straps.

In reality, a harness is so much more than just a seat. It is the link that connects the pilot to his glider, and enables transmission of information and piloting. Just as the ski boot gives the skier control of his skis, the harness plays a critical role in piloting the glider. It is part of a triplet (pilot, harness and glider) which reaches its optimum when the three elements complement each other.

As the glider flies in an active air mass, it transmits information to the pilot via the harness. The pilot then reacts to this information by acting on the wing directly with the brakes, but also with his whole body in contact with the harness. The harness therefore puts the pilot in tune with the wing.

The best glider in the world will only perform well if the 2 other elements of the triplet are well adjusted.

From this premise, it is clear that the best harness in the world is:

The one that best suits you and your sail!

NOTE:

We won't talk here about the different options (storage, protection, volume, etc...) which will obviously have to be taken into account in your final choice, but which are not to be considered in the adequacy with the sail and the pilot.

 

Point N°1 : The Sail

The first thing to consider is your glider and the type of flights you are planning. You must therefore be familiar with your glider and its performance.

A cross-country/competition pilot will not have the same expectations as a young pilot who is discovering thermalling on a known site, or as an amateur bivouac pilot.

Don't take a hike-and-fly harness to go flying for a competition and vice-versa!

A dynamic wing  may need a relatively stable harness to dampen the various movements of the wing. On the other hand, a more unstable harness will help to shake up a  mellow wing.

A high performance and demanding glider should flown efficiently in all conditions, allowing the pilot to use its full potential, with a wide range of trimming possibilities and features. A harness with a bottomtray is often more precise than a harness with independent thighs. A harness with good rigidity limits parasitic movements transmitted to the glider and optimizes every phase of flight.

On the other hand, a beginner will prefer a "simpler" harness that allows him to pilot his wing with peace of mind without having to worry unnecessarily about his harness. The role of the harness will also be to filter out excess information provided by the glider. The harness should nevertheless allow the pilot to fly the wing actively.

A mini glider is usually flown with a leg harness, which allows you to filter out a little bit the many movements of this rather lively type of glider. With a bottom tray (which transmits faster), you risk being constantly out of phase in your piloting.

 

Item N°2 : The Pilot

The second point is actually the pilot. Everyone is different: man, woman, tall, short, skinny, large, ...

And not everyone has the same level or the same flying goals...

We can distinguish 3 overall families of pilots/practices:

  • The beginner, who mostly does short flights on site.

The beginner needs an open field of view forward and downward to easily find the visual clues, as well as a high roll inertia geometry that will automatically filter out the movements of the harness. He will therefore choose a seated position harness.

  • The performance pilot, who practices cross-country and/or competition.

The information he seeks to optimize flight conditions are mostly in the sky (wing movements, clouds, wind, birds, ...) and his position naturally becomes more reclined. In addition, he needs a geometry with less roll inertia which allows him to have a harness that transmits more information. Flights can last several hours, and comfort becomes essential to stay in good shape and concentrated throughout. The recumbent harness with cocoon is therefore the most suitable harness for this type of pilot.

  • The intermediate pilot, who flies in thermals on site and builds longer and longer flights.

This pilot is is in between the previous 2 examples. This pilot is in the learning phase where his information needs (visual and sensitive) are evolving. He will therefore have to change his position and the geometry of his harness to accompany him during his progression. He will be able to go through a semi-recumbent position, and by adding a foot restraint before eventually moving on to a cocoon harness.

Item N°3 : The Saddle

Last element, resulting from the 2 others: The harness.

Each pilot has his own shape and specific traits. In the air, some like to lie down, others can't stand it. Some can remain relaxed in any conditions, others cower as soon as the air mass starts to activate.

A passage through the gantry helps to understand the various settings, and to make a first compromise on them. But once in the air, things can be different: behaviour of the wing, state of mind, flight site, etc .... The posture in the harness can therefore be modified, and then you have to go through the "adjustment" box again to refine all this.

Note: It is advisable, during this phase of tests and adjustments, to memorize the elements that you like (or not!) in order to be able to search for them (or not!) during future tests. If you know that you prefer a rather stable harness (height of the anchor point / type of damping present, geometry), then there is no point in testing a harness that is known to be unstable.

Since the notion of comfort is mostly subjective, it is not possible to say that this or that harness is more or less comfortable. Especially since the notion of comfort (or rather discomfort) may only appear after a certain duration of flight time. A test on a gantry never lasts more than a few minutes, and it is therefore difficult to detect potential problems.

A painful or uncomfortable harness can become a real safety problem in the air, if the pilot can no longer be 100% in control.

It is therefore essential to try a harness in the air, in real flying conditions.

At this point you will have tested several harnesses that may be suitable for your glider and your practice, and in which you feel comfortable even after a long flight.

The most important thing is done!

Now what remains is to compare some additional parameters:

  • Protection, with or without? Foam bag or airbag ?
  • Rescue container? How many? Locations?
  • Storage? Number of pockets ? Locations ?
  • Accessories? Foot strap ? Cocoon ?
  • ...
With all these elements, you should now be able to determine the best harness for you!

Be careful not to neglect the "glider" and "pilot" points: It is preferable to have a comfortable harness adapted to your glider, even if it lacks a pocket ...

A harness is a long-term investment, you change it less often than a wing.

PILOTS' OPINIONS ...

The first criterion is comfort. Whether it's sitting, semi-recumbent or cocoon, you should feel good, without any hard spot in your back, pulling shoulders or feeling like you're sliding forward. Of course in "comfort" everything is relative, a thong will inevitably be less comfortable than a racing cocoon, but it is still a good harness if it is well designed. It must also be adapted to my needs! light for a string, shapely for a racing cocoon, beautiful too, that counts. The stability/damping on the roll also counts a lot. But that's a matter of choice. Some people like trucks that don't move, others prefer very sensitive fifth wheels (but it can be scary or even complicated in case of bulk). Some can do both (like the Kanibal Race 2)! The most important thing is to be convinced that your harness is adapted to your practice, to your piloting preferences (stable or not, lying or sitting, ...) and to your needs (race, bivouac flight, site flight, trekking flight) everything is about compromise. But above all it must please us! The look also counts....
Damien LACAZE

Member of the Kortel Adventure & Competition Team

A good harness, I think it starts with something comfortable, in which you are held and where you feel good, with which you could go for hours and hours without feeling any pain, pressure or discomfort....

A good harness is also something simple to adjust, intuitive, and has the ability to put us in confidence in any type of flight, situation or practice (acro, cross, hike and fly ......)

Sam AVENNE

Member of the Kortel Competition Team

A good harness is above all a harness that corresponds to your type of practice,  and allows an optimal and long-lasting flight.

Second of all,  a choice which is oriented towards comfort. Because being comfortable in a harness is what allows you to use the maximum capacity of your wing.

If, despite these points, there is a question of differentiation, then the focus should be on the brand, because depending on the reputation, there can be big differences, particularly in terms of the durability of the harness, the type of materials used, and the quality of after-sales service, which is an important point.

Rémi BOURDELLE

Member of the Kortel Competition Team

A good harness? It's a harness that's just right for your use. So multiple uses = multiple harnesses ... although there are compromises that can do it all ... kind of.

For cross country and competition (with an high aspect ratio wing) comfort and profile, stability for transitions with the possibility of instability in thermals and not too heavy for air travel and for carrying the bag after an un-planned landing ...

For hiking & flying (associated with a light and performance glider), the first quality will be lightness but without obscuring comfort, profile and stability. For trekking flight (associated with an ultralight wing), the lightest possible harness, with enough comfort to fly for 1h ...

Stéphane DROUIN

Member of the Kortel Competition Team

Sélectionner une page

C’est quoi une bonne sellette ?

SELLETTE

(Cf Wikipédia)

« En parapente, la sellette est le siège dans lequel est assis le pilote. Elle est reliée aux élévateurs par deux mousquetons. Le pilote y est attaché par des sangles. »

En réalité, une sellette est bien plus qu’un simple siège. C’est le lien qui relie le pilote sa voile, et permet la transmission des informations et du pilotage. Au même titre que la chaussure permet au skieur de contrôler ses skis, la sellette prend une part très importante dans le pilotage de la voile. Elle fait partie d’un trio (pilote/sellette/voile) qui atteint son optimum lorsque les 3 éléments se complètent mutuellement.

La voile évoluant dans une masse d’air active, elle transmet des informations au pilote par le biais de la sellette. Le pilote réagit ensuite à ses informations en agissant sur la voile directement avec les freins, mais également avec l’ensemble du corps en contact avec la sellette. La sellette permet donc au pilote d’être en accord avec sa voile.

La meilleure voile du monde ne pourra être performante que si les 2 autres éléments du trio sont en adéquation.

A partir de ce postulat, il apparaît clair que la meilleure sellette du monde est :

Celle qui vous correspond le mieux, ainsi qu’à votre voile !

NOTE :

Nous ne parlerons pas ici des différentes options (rangement, protection, volume, etc …) qui devront bien évidemment entrer en ligne de compte dans votre choix final, mais qui ne sont pas à considérer dans l’adéquation avec la voile et le pilote.

 

Point N°1 : La Voile

Le premier point à prendre en considération, c’est votre voile et le type de vols envisagés. Vous devez donc bien connaître votre voile et ses performances.

Un pilote de cross/compétition n’aura pas les mêmes attentes qu’un jeune pilote qui découvre le thermique sur site connu, ou qu’un amateur de vol-bivouac.

Ne prenez pas une sellette de vol rando  pour aller faire de la compétition !

Une voile réputée vive aura peut-être besoin d’une sellette relativement stable, pour amortir un peu les différents mouvements de la voile. A contrario, une sellette plus instable permettra de dynamiser une voile trop amortie.

Une voile performante et exigeante devra pouvoir être pilotée efficacement en toutes conditions, pour permettre au pilote d’utiliser au mieux tout son potentiel, avec de nombreuses possibilités de réglage et de fonctionnalités. Une assise constituée d’un plateau est souvent plus précise qu’une sellette à cuisses indépendantes. Une sellette disposant d’une bonne rigidité permet de limiter les mouvements parasites transmis à la voile et d’optimiser chaque phase de vol.

Un débutant devra lui privilégier une sellette plus « simple » qui lui permette de piloter sereinement son aile sans avoir à se préoccuper inutilement de sa sellette. La sellette aura aussi pour rôle de filtrer l’excès d’informations fournies par la voile. Elle devra néanmoins lui permettre un pilotage actif.

Une mini-voile se pilote généralement avec une sellette à cuissardes, qui permet de filtrer un peu les nombreux mouvements de ce type de voile plutôt vives. Avec une planchette (qui transmet plus rapidement), vous risquez d’être constamment à contretemps dans votre pilotage.

 

Point N°2 : Le Pilote

Le second point, c’est donc le pilote. Tout le monde est différent : homme, femme, grand, petit, maigre, corpulent, …

Et tout le monde n’a pas le même niveau ni les mêmes objectifs de vol …

On peut distinguer 3 grandes familles de pilotes/pratiques :

  • Le débutant, qui réalise majoritairement de petits vols courts sur site.

Il a besoin d’avoir un champ de vision ouvert sur l’avant et vers le bas, pour trouver aisément les indices visuels dont il a besoin, ainsi que d’une géométrie à haute inertie en roulis qui permettra de filtrer automatiquement les mouvements de la sellette. Il choisira donc une sellette assise.

  • Le pilote de performance, qui pratique le cross et/ou la compétition.

Les informations qu’il recherche pour optimiser les conditions de vol se situent majoritairement dans le ciel (mouvements de la voile, nuages, vent, oiseaux, …) et sa position devient naturellement plus couchée. Par ailleurs, il a besoin d’une géométrie avec moins d’inertie en roulis qui lui permet d’avoir une sellette transmettant plus d’informations. Les vols peuvent durer plusieurs heures, et le confort devient primordial pour rester en bonne forme et concentré tout du long. La sellette couchée avec cocon est donc la sellette la plus adaptée pour ce type de pilotes.

  • Le pilote intermédiaire, qui vole en thermique sur site et réalise des vols de plus en plus longs.

Ce pilote se trouve entre les 2. Il est dans la phase d’apprentissage où ses besoins d’informations (visuelles et sensitives) sont en évolution. Il va donc devoir faire évoluer sa position et la géométrie de sa sellette pour l’accompagner durant sa progression. Il pourra passer par une position semi-couchée, et par l’ajout d’un cale-pied avant de passer éventuellement à une sellette cocon.

Point N°3 : La Sellette

Dernier élément, découlant des 2 autres : La Sellette.

Chaque pilote a sa morphologie, et ses spécificités propres. En l’air, certains aiment avoir une position allongée, d’autres ne le supporte pas. Certains peuvent rester détendus dans n’importe quelles conditions, d’autres se recroquevillent dès que la masse d’air commence à s’activer.

Un passage en portique permet de comprendre les réglages, et d’effectuer un premier compromis sur ceux-ci. Mais une fois en l’air, les choses peuvent être différentes : comportement de l’aile, état de forme, site de vol, etc …. La posture dans la sellette peut donc s’en trouver modifiée, et il faut alors repasser par la case « réglage » pour affiner tout ça.

Note : Il est judicieux, lors de cette phase d’essais et de réglages, de mémoriser les éléments que l’on apprécie (ou pas !) pour pouvoir les rechercher ou pas !) lors de futurs essais. Si vous savez que vous préférez une sellette plutôt stable (Hauteur de point d’ancrage / type d’amortissement présent, géométrie), alors inutile de vouloir tester une sellette réputée instable.

La notion de confort étant subjective, il n’est pas possible d’affirmer que telle ou telle sellette est plus ou moins confortable. D’autant plus que la notion de confort (ou plutôt d’inconfort) peut n’apparaître qu’après un temps de vol plus ou moins long. Un essai en portique ne dure jamais plus que quelques minutes, et il est alors difficile de détecter de potentiels problèmes.

Une sellette douloureuse ou inconfortable peut devenir un vrai problème de sécurité en l’air, si le pilote n’arrive plus à être à 100% dans son pilotage.

Il est donc primordial d’essayer une sellette en l’air, en conditions réelles de vol.

A ce stade, vous avez normalement pu déterminer plusieurs sellettes qui peuvent correspondre à votre voile et à votre pratique, et dans laquelle vous vous sentez bien même après un long vol.

Le plus important est fait !

Reste maintenant à comparer les paramètres complémentaires :

  • Protection, avec ou sans ? Mousse bag ou airbag ?
  • Container secours ? Combien ? Emplacements ?
  • Rangements ? Nombre de poches ? Emplacements ?
  • Accessoirisation ? Cale-pied ? Cocon ?
Avec tous ces éléments, vous devriez maintenant pouvoir déterminer la meilleure sellette pour vous !

Attention de ne pas négliger les points « voile » et « pilote » : Il est préférable d’avoir une sellette confortable et adaptée à votre voile, même s’il lui manque une poche …

Une sellette est un investissement à long terme, on en change moins souvent que de voile.

AVIS DE PILOTES …

Le premier critère est le confort. Qu’elle soit assise, semi-couchée ou cocon, on doit se sentir bien, sans point dur dans le dos, épaules qui tirent ou sensations de glisser vers l’avant. Bien entendu dans “confort” tout est relatif, un string sera forcément moins confortable qu’un cocon de course, et ça n’en reste pas moins une bonne sellette s’il est bien conçue. Elle doit être également adaptée au besoin que j’en ai ! légère pour un string, shapée pour un cocon de course, belle aussi, ça compte. La stabilité/amortissement sur le roulis compte aussi beaucoup. Mais ça c’est une histoire de choix. Certains aiment les camions qui ne bougent pas, d’autres préfèrent les sellettes hyper sensibles en roulis (mais ça peut faire peur voire devenir compliqué en cas de vrac). Certaines savent faire les 2 (c’est le cas de la Kanibal Race 2)!  Le plus important, c’est d’être soit même convaincu que sa sellette est adaptée à sa pratique, à ses préférences en terme de pilotage (stable ou non, couchée ou assise, …) et ses ses besoins (course, vol bivouac, vol sur site, vol rando) tout est histoire de compromis. Mais surtout elle doit nous plaire ! Le Look, ça compte aussi….
Damien LACAZE

Membre du Team Kortel Aventure & Compétition

Une bonne sellette, je pense que ça commence par quelque chose de confort, dans laquelle on est maintenu et où on se sent bien, avec laquelle on pourrait faire des heures et des heures sans ressentir la moindre douleur pression ou inconfort….

Une bonne sellette, c’est aussi quelque chose de simple a régler, intuitif, et qui a la capacité de nous mettre en confiance dans n’importe quel type de vol, situation, ou pratique ( accro, cross, hike and fly ….)

Sam AVENNE

Membre du Team Kortel Compétition

Une bonne sellette c’est avant tout une sellette qui correspond à son type de pratique, cela permet une optimisation optimale et durable.

Puis dans un second temps un choix qui s’oriente sur le confort. Car être confortable dans une sellette c’est ce qui permet d’utiliser les capacités maximales de son aile.

Si malgré ces points une différenciation se demande alors il faut mettre l’accent sur la marque, en effet en fonction de la réputation on peut y trouver de grosses différences, notamment au niveau de la durabilité de la sellette en termes de confection, de type de matériaux utilisés, ainsi que la qualité du SAV qui est un point important.

Rémi BOURDELLE

Membre du Team Kortel Compétition

Une bonne sellette ? C’est une sellette qui correspond à ton utilisation. Donc plusieurs utilisations = plusieurs sellettes … bien qu’il existe des compromis qui peuvent tout faire … moyennement.

Pour le cross et la compétition (associée à une voile allongée) le confort et le profilage, la stabilité pour les transitions avec la possibilité d’instabiliser dans le thermique et pas trop lourde pour les voyage en avions et pour porter le sac après une vache….

Pour le marche & vol (associé avec une voile performante Light), la qualité première sera la légèreté mais sans occulter le confort, profilage et stabilité. Pour le vol rando (associé à une aile ultralight), sellette la plus légère possible, avec un confort suffisant pour voler 1h….

Stéphane DROUIN

Membre du Team Kortel Compétition