Select a page

3000km Bivouac flight in South America!

Hello

The exploration part of southern Chile south of Santiago is now over. Very few people have ever flown there and no one has ever done cross-country. The conditions do not allow us to hope for walking and flying. The conditions are very stable but the real worry is the impossibility to reach and find takeoffs and landings partly because of the impenetrable forests and the lack of path.

We have put a lot of effort into just 70km of progress. We were able to make a 100km flight to Santiago. We covered 160km of the 700km planned for this part. We decide to start our big crossing 80km south of Santiago for more than 2500km of bivouac flight.

We're a little more optimistic for the future, even though no one has stolen from it yet. The biggest difficulty will remain finding water.

Thank you for your support

Antoine & Martin

Hello

We have just completed 800km of successful bivouac flight in the Andes. Of which 650km have never been flown before. We passed passes at more than 4000m. Our maximum ceiling was 5200m with a temperature of -3°C. The conditions are difficult to fly, stability especially in the morning, very strong breezes (50km/h) up to 1000m above the ground. The most difficult remains the management of water in this desert. Obliging to carry 10L each to survive 3 days minimum.

Fantastic flights of beauty in lunar landscapes.

A full success for this exploration.

We are now on the edge of the Pacific to cover the next 1000 kilometres through a succession of dunes in bivouac flight. It's a repetition as it's already been done at least once. Exploration will resume to the north of Arica.

 

Thank you for your support.

Antoine and Martin

Hello
Here we are in Iquique, the Mecca of paragliding in Chile. We have just covered 750km of rocky dunes, for the first time in autonomy, and in total already 1500km of bivouac flight. This section proved to be much more difficult than expected, the strong south wind was a big problem. Flying backwards was a daily occurrence... Thermal flights in these conditions tested our nerves and our ability to fly. At the moment the local pilots are waiting for "flyable" conditions to bring out the cross country wings. We are a bit reassured!
We still have 200km to Arica before leaving again in the high mountains of Peru. For this section we need a backup boat and good wind as there is no possible landing except in the ocean...
Once again, thank you for your support!
Antoine and Martin

Bonjour,

La partie d’exploration du sud Chili au sud de Santiago est maintenant fini. Très peu de personne y ont déjà volé et personne n’y à fait du cross. Les conditions ne permettent pas d’espérer faire du marche et vol. Les conditions sont très stable mais le vrais soucis reste l’impossibilité de rejoindre et trouver des décollages et atterrissages en partie à cause des forêts impénétrable et l’absence de chemin.

Nous avons fournit beaucoup d’effort pour simplement 70km d’avancées. Nous avons pu réaliser un vol de 100km pour rejoindre Santiago. Nous avons couvert 160km sur les 700km prévu pour cette partie. Nous décidons de commencer notre grande traversée à 80km au sud de Santiago pour plus de 2500km de vol bivouac.

Nous sommes un peu plus optimiste pour la suite même si personne n’y à encore volé. La plus grosse difficulté restera de trouver de l’eau.

Merci de votre soutien

Antoine & Martin

Bonjour,

Nous venons de réaliser 800km de vol bivouac avec succès dans les Andes. Dont 650km qui n’ont jamais été voler précédemment. Nous avons passé des cols à plus de 4000m. Nôtres plafond maximum fut de 5200m avec une température de -3°C. Les conditions sont difficiles à voler, stabilité  surtout le matin, des brises très forte (50km/h) jusqu’à 1000m au dessus du sol. Le plus difficile reste la gestion de l’eau dans ce désert. Obliger d’emporter 10L chacun pour survivre 3 jours minimum.

Des vols fantastiques de beauté dans des paysages lunaires.

Un plein succès pour cette exploration.

Nous sommes maintenant au bord du Pacifique pour parcourir les 1000 prochains kilomètres par une succession de dunes en vol bivouac. C’est une répétition puisque cela a déjà été réalisé au moins une fois. L’exploration reprendra au nord de Arica.

 

Merci de votre soutien.

Antoine et Martin

Bonjour,
Nous voila arrivés à a Iquique, la Mecque du parapente au Chili. Nous venons de parcourir 750km de dunes rocheuses, pour la première fois en autonomie, et au total déjà 1500km de vol bivouac. Cette section c’est révélée beaucoup plus difficile que prévu, le vent du sud puissant nous a beaucoup gêné. Voler en marche arrière a été quotidien… Les vols thermiques dans ces conditions ont éprouvé nos nerfs et nos capacités à piloter. En ce moment les pilotes locaux attendent des conditions “volables” pour sortir les ailes de cross. Nous sommes un peu rassurés !
Il nous reste 200km jusqu’à Arica avant de repartir dans les hautes montagnes du Pérou. Pour cette section nous avons besoin d’un bateau en backup et du bon vent car il n’y a aucun posé possible hormis dans l’océan…
Encore une fois, merci de votre soutien !
Antoine et Martin